Monday, February 12, 2007

Indian Squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup West Indies 2007

The final world cup squad of India has been declared just a few hours ago. There is not any surprise inclusion in the squad. The squad involves two wicket-keepers, 7 bowlers and 7 batsmen; but there is no all-rounder but the injured Irfan Pathan can bat well who now can be regarded as the only all-rounder in the squad. The team will lead by veteran batsman Rahul Dravid and Sachin Tendulkar has been selected as the deputy of Dravid. The squad is given below-

Rahul Dravid (c), Sachin Tendulkar (v-c), Virender Sehwag, , Saurav Ganguly, Yuvraj Singh, Robin Uthappa, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Anil Kumble, Harbhajan Singh, Irfan Pathan, Munaf Patel, Zaheer Khan, Sreesanth, Ajit Agarkar

Among the bowlers there are two spinners and five pacers. Anil Kumble and Harbhajan Singh are in the squad with their spin bowling and Ajit Agarkar. Munaf Patel, Sreesanth, Zaheer Khan and Irfan Pathan will appear with new ball. The most important thing is that there are four specialist openers- Sourav Ganguly, Sachin Tendulkar, Robin Uthappa and Virendar Shewag.